Apple announcements, and what Cisco should do about them…

Hello Everybody,

Earlier today, I enjoyed the Engadget Liveblog of Steve Jobs’ keynote from the 2010 Apple World Wide Developers Conference in San Francisco. I was excited to watch this, because I love gadgets, and I wanted to learn more about the new iPhone, and anything else that hadn’t been leaked yet (see The Tale of Apple’s Next iPhone).

One of Mr. Jobs’ announcements on the iPhone, announcement number 6 (he had 8 + 1 bonus), was that Apple has changed the name of their mobile operating system, iPhone OS to iOS. Now, to the masses that might not be that big of a deal. Maybe that even seems a bit less cumbersome to stomach when you’re describing your mobile operating system’s platform to your friends. But, some folks might know that iOS, or IOS is a term that Cisco Systems has used to describe their Internetwork Operating System for years. Being somewhat of a Cisco IOS expert myself, I’m not up in arms about Apple’s decision on the matter, but I wonder how many folks will be.

It also reminded me about the news that broke back when the first Apple iPhone hit the market; where Cisco’s intellectual property had been used without permission by Apple. Not many of the folks I’ve recently talked to immediately remembered this, but you may recall that the name iPhone belonged to Cisco long before you received your first text message or called up your favorite Pandora radio station on that jewel of a gadget!

iPhone

Now, if you read up, you’ll find that Apple approached Cisco several times to gain the usage of the iPhone name for their mobile product, but Cisco had no plans for allowing it. Of course, as millions of people already have the proof in their pockets as you’re reading this, Apple used the name anyway. We’ll see how this new usage of Cisco terminology goes for Apple, but if the past shows anything, Apple will likely did get their way.

I’ll leave you with something I found humorous. I realize that Wikipedia is constantly under edit, but I caught a screenshot of Cisco’s IOS entry before it was apparently fixed. Enjoy:

Cisco iOS

Cisco iOS

Thanks for reading, and visit us at www.ITPROSERV.com.

Leave a comment, tweet at me, hit me at Facebook, or call my girlfriend Jenny at 867-5309 and tell me your thoughts!

One Response to Apple announcements, and what Cisco should do about them…

  1. itproserv says:

    “Cisco has agreed to license the iOS trademark to Apple for use as the name of Apple’s operating system for iPhone, iPod touch and iPad. The license is for use of the trademark only and not for any technology.”

    http://blogs.cisco.com/news/comments/cisco_and_apple_agreement_on_ios_trademark/

Leave a Reply

